Cooking Up Language: Learning Vocabulary in the Kitchen

Cooking to post

I’m constantly looking for ways to incorporate vocabulary building into everyday tasks.

My toddler is very curious as to what my husband and I are doing, and loves pulling up a chair next to the kitchen counter or sink to “help.”

Allowing your child to help you cook is an excellent way to teach/review vocabulary and concepts in the target language, as well as involve him in the cooking and cleanup process.

Here are 3 reasons why you should involve your kids in the kitchen:

  1. Builds vocabulary. My son gets really excited when he gets to add ingredients to a bowl or stir them with the wooden spoon. As he adds ingredients to the bowl, I say the word for the ingredient and ask him to repeat it. I also include vocabulary for various food textures. Similarly, I state verbs as we transition from mixing and stirring to pouring and cooking. The funnier the voice I use to say the word, the greater the chance of my son repeating the word. During our time in the kitchen, my son is learning words for food, utensils, and actions associated with cooking and cleanup.
  2. Allows your child to use his senses. Cooking exposes kids to a variety of foods that they can taste, smell, and touch. My son is usually unwilling to try new foods, but enjoys smelling and squishing food in various states. For me, cooking together gives me another opportunity to offer/present new foods for my son to (hopefully) try.
  3. Provides hands-on learning. Kids acquire and retain knowledge through play, and allowing them to be a part of the cooking process provides them with hands-on learning.

Be sure to adapt the cooking to your child’s age and level of interest. Here is a handy chart of how to include kids in the kitchen based on age. If you have a toddler like I do, this is not the time to make fancy meals. Start small—bake muffins or assemble homemade pizza. My 2-year-old son loves dumping ingredients into a bowl and mixing them together, as well as adding toppings to our make-ahead breakfast burritos.

Most importantly, allow your child (and yourself) to have fun and make a mess!*

*Extra kitchen towels highly suggested. 🙂

Leave a Reply

